Home  |  Search  |  Chinese
Home About US Research Missions Int'l Cooperation Education Jobs Contact US
  News Update
  Int’l Cooperation News
  Research Progress
Location: Home>News>News Update

An ESA delegation visited NSSC
Update time: 2024-01-15
Text Size: A A A
On January 11, 2024, a delegation headed by Mr. Eric Morel de Westgaver, Director of European, Legal and International Affairs of the European Space Agency (ESA), visited the National Space Science Center (NSSC). Professor WANG Chi, Director General of NSSC, and Professor DONG Xiaolong, Deputy Director General of NSSC, met with the delegation.

Prof. WANG Chi warmly welcomed Mr. Morel and his delegation, expressing appreciation for ESA's contribution to the successful launch of the Einstein Probe mission on Jan. 9, 2024. He emphasized that ESA is an important international partner of NSSC, and that, with joint efforts from both sides, the ESA-China SMILE mission has successfully passed the Critical Design Review, marking an important milestone in the mission's life cycle. Prof. WANG Chi also introduced the future space science missions in China.

Mr. Morel expressed his appreciation for the collaboration between China and ESA on the Einstein Probe and the SMILE mission, and thanked the joint mission teams for their efficient work. He introduced the ongoing transformation efforts at ESA, the selection of scientific missions, the planning of human spaceflight, and the development of launch vehicles. The two sides discussed the mechanism for regular exchanges in space science and possible areas of cooperation in scientific missions.

Representatives from the International Cooperation Bureau of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the International Cooperation Office of NSSC, and the Space Science Program Engineering Center of NSSC also participated in the discussion. 

(Supplied by International Cooperation Office and Space Science Program Engineering Center)

Fig. 1 Discussion

Fig. 2 Group photo


Copyright @2005—2015 National Space Science Center, Chinese Academy of Sciences